back to
Intakt Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    You will get the CD-booklet (as PDF-file) with liner notes and photos as bonus if you buy the whole album.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $9.80 USD  or more


Sea No Shore 07:24


Intakt CD 361

With Togetherness Music, British pianist and composer Alexander Hawkins presents a fascinating musical panorama, a distillation and synthesis of different traditions and influences, reflecting the broad spectrum of an extraordinary musical spirit. Released to celebrate Hawkins' 40th birthday, this six-movement quasi-orchestral work is an extensive expansion and revision of a piece which originated with a commission from conductor and composer Aaron Holloway-Nahum for the Riot Ensemble, to feature Hawkins and saxophone icon Evan Parker – with whom Hawkins has enjoyed a now more than decade-long musical association – as soloists. The new incarnation of the work features the original forces, augmented by additional acoustic improvisers and the electronic wizardry of Matthew Wright.
Whilst the Riot Ensemble are primarily renowned for their performan- ces of notated contemporary classical music, and Parker is one of the seminal figures in free improvisation and the post-Coltrane jazz continuum, roles shift fluidly throughout this work, creating an entirely distinctive soundworld.
"Collaborations among improvisers and classical musicians can be fraught – a clash of cultures," writes musician James Fei in the comprehensive liner notes. "When it works, however, something unique and in-between becomes possible." Indeed: Togetherness Music shows new musical possibilities. A highly contemporary musical work, which points to the future.



released January 15, 2021

Alexander Hawkins: Piano, Composition
Evan Parker: Soprano Saxophone
Aaron Holloway-Nahum: Conductor
Rachel Musson: Flute, Tenor Saxophone
Percy Pursglove: Trumpet
James Arben: Flute, Bass Clarinet
Neil Charles: Double Bass
Mark Sanders: Drums, Percussion
Matthew Wright: Electronics
Benedict Taylor: Viola
Hannah Marshall: Cello

Music by Alexander Hawkins (PRS). Rec July 30, 2020 at Challow Park Studios, Oxfordshire, UK by Will Biggs. Assistant engineer: James Towler. Mixed and mastered September 2020, London, UK, by Alex Bonney. Cover art and graphic design: Jonas Schoder. Linernotes: James Fei. Produced by Alexander Hawkins and Intakt Records-


all rights reserved



Alexander Hawkins Oxford, UK


contact / help

Contact Alexander Hawkins

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Togetherness Music, you may also like: